Google+ thinks I blocked 23 people before I even joined?

I don’t remember telling any googlethang that I didn’t want to interact with one person, let alone 23! Especially when some of you in that “blocked” group are actually some of my favourite people?

So, um, if you’ve perhaps been thinking for months that I’ve got you blocked on Google, I never meant to and I don’t hate everything about you, really. Truly really. Even the couple of you whose names I don’t recognise at all – surely if I’d blocked you I’d remember something about you!

Pax?



Categories: technology

Tags:

5 replies

  1. Rumour has it (I heard from someone who had been complaining about the same thing, so rumour) that it’s a leftover from Buzz. If you shut down Buzz the way we were all told to, you blocked a heap of people and this has come through with Google+.

    • If you shut down Buzz the way we were all told to, you blocked a heap of people

      Which I did, so I probably inadvertently shut a few people off as it propagated

      Two other people turned up in my blocked group, but since I don’t know them, I’m happy to leave them there,

      Yeah, there’s a few names there that I don’t especially recognise. When I have a few more spoons I’ll do some intel on them, but for the moment I’m leaving them there.

  2. I actually blocked one person on gmail, and they were blocked on Google +, but aren’t properly blocked on google reader or google buzz (which is annoying – I see their comments on my friend’s stuff).
    Two other people turned up in my blocked group, but since I don’t know them, I’m happy to leave them there, and I added another person I thought I’d blocked but who wasn’t in the blocked list.

  3. I read this post on my commute this morning, and I starred it so I could add my two cents. When I joined Google+, I didn’t understand why I had some person I didn’t know in my blocked circle. I removed him from the blocked circle, thinking nothing of it. But when I went to Google Reader, it said I had one new follower: the same person.
    I then remembered that he had started following me on Google Reader, but because I didn’t know him, I blocked him (there doesn’t seem to be another way to reject followers). So I quickly blocked him again on Google Reader, and lo and behold: he was blocked on Google+ as well.
    I don’t have anyone blocked on Gmail/Gchat, and I disabled Buzz as soon as humanly possible. So I have no idea if it’s the same for folks you’ve blocked on those services, or just Reader.

    • Thanks for the datapoints, phira.
      What gets me is that of the 23 people google said that I had blocked, about 20 of them are people with whom I’ve been interacting online for quite some time and e-know reasonably well, whom I would never deliberately block. That’s why I thought it was worth posting.

%d bloggers like this: